2013 Highlights

2013 was a year of exciting business growth as I expanded my children/family work and entered the contemporary business/social media portrait market, capitalizing on the new reality; that your image has become a key part of your brand.

With the onslaught of new clients, I switched from a natural light studio to the consistency of artificial light.  I was terrified, but with the support of several photographer friends, I’ve successfully made the transition.

In my non-profit work, several of the foster kids I work with were adopted this year and I hope more will be in early 2014.   My work with paws4people.org continues to grow as the organization grows and I’m very excited about what 2014 is likely to bring.

Here are some of my favorite images from 2013:

For Profit

Robin's response to seeing this image of Midnight,  "I know I'm off-camera, but I can tell from his eyes that he's looking right at me -- that's the exact way he looks at me, with all of that love -- and that gets me every time. That's something that I'll treasure most is being able to always see the way he would look at me."

Robin contacted me to photograph Midnight, because Midnight has been sick, Cancer.  In response to seeing this image she wrote, “I know I’m off-camera, but I can tell from his eyes that he’s looking right at me — that’s the exact way he looks at me, with all of that love — and that gets me every time. That’s something that I’ll treasure most is being able to always see the way he would look at me.”

I put in a studio this year and have loved having the choice to shoot indoors, when the weather is bad.

Sophia and David

I've been photographing this awesome family since Matthew was born. This year, the kids came to the shoot with their own concepts.  The pyramid was William's idea.

I’ve been photographing this awesome family since Matthew was born. This year, the kids came to the shoot with their own concepts. The pyramid was William’s idea.

Doug

This was scheduled as a dog shoot, but Danny was a good sport, getting into the act.

This was scheduled as a dog shoot, but it didn’t take much encouragement to get Danny into the act.

Jacob likes to be very close to the camera.

It seems like yesterday that was doing Jacob’s newborn shoot.

Lucy is a therapy dog who goes to work with Jackie, a local therapist. http://www.wellness.com/dir/6145066/counselor/va/vienna/jackie-stout-lcsw

Lucy is a therapy dog who goes to work with Jackie, a local therapist. http://www.jackielstout.com/

I've been photographing Will and his sister Laura since they were born. They are both big swimmers, so it was fun to mix it up with a pool shoot this year.

I’ve been photographing Will and his sister Laura since they were born. They are both big swimmers, so it was fun to mix it up with a pool shoot this year.

Sometimes it's just about capturing a moment.

Mathew and Megan

grace4

Grace

I photographed a lot of dogs this year. Sir Bentley was absolutely one of my favorites!

Sir Bentley

Non-Profit

I've been photographing Erin, Solomon and their family since 2009.

paws4people: I’ve been photographing Erin, Solomon and their family since 2009. To learn more about Erin and her sister click here: http://www.rachaelrayshow.com/tips/8890_Conjoined_Twins_The_Story_of_Erin_Jade/index.html

Rachael and her assistance dog, Dawson. The flag in the background was the flag given to her family when he died. And the picture she is holding, is her grandfather.

paws4people: Rachael wanted to find a way to pay tribute to her grandfather, lost earlier this year. The flag was the flag they received at his funeral and the picture, of course, her young grandfather.

Alex graduated from high school in last June and we did his pictures at his school, so we could include his favorite teacher.

paws4people: Alex graduated from high school in  June and we did his pictures at his school, so we could include his favorite teacher.

Alex and Kingsley

paws4people: Alex and Kingsley

Josh and his assistance dog, Mason.

paws4people: Josh and his assistance dog, Mason.

Here's Rachael again, this time Dawson is demonstrating how he can bring her a pizza. Not a skill my beagles could master!

paws4people: I was stunned when Rachael told me that her assistance dog, Dawson, could take a pizza in a box and deliver it to her, still intact. Sure enough, here he is!

joanbrady_lily_1_13_0132

paws4people: I love photographing the litters of puppies who will be trained as assistance dogs. In addition to breeding dogs for temperament, paws4people.org also trains rescue dogs, including dogs from Afghanistan.

adam_kenan_jbrady_oct2013_0598

paws4people: Adam, a veteran, and I met at one of the prisons where paws4people.org dogs are trained.  Just months later, with his new assistance dog, Kenan, Adam’s entire demeanor has changed.

I'm not able to share most of my images of foster kids. But this is one of my favorites. The hand on the left is attached to a warm-hearted young man who has aged out and unlike so many kids who age out, he has a job and a place to live.  The hand on the right belongs to one of my kids who was adopted. She started college this year.

Foster Kids: I’m not able to share most of my images of foster kids. But this is one of my favorites. The hand on the left is attached to a warm-hearted young man who has aged out and unlike so many kids who age out, he is working and has a roof over his head. The hand on the right belongs to one of my wonderful girls who was adopted about 2 years ago.  She started college this year.  I’m so proud of them both.

Jaheim, a child who has spent 10 years of his 11 in foster care, came by my studio to learn about photography. http://www.nbcwashington.com/video/#!/news/local/Wednesdays-Child–Jaheim/229003691  If you are interested in learning more about Jaheim, call: 88-to-adopt-me

Family

Jim finally had the opportunity to go with me to photograph a litter of paws4people puppies.

Jim finally had the opportunity to go with me to photograph a litter of paws4people puppies.

Dontae LOVED dressing up in a tux and going to the prom.

Dontae LOVED his prom tux.  I was surprised he didn’t want to sleep in it!

Fred and Hank

Fred and Hank

april2013_0175

Dontae

Fred and Hank

Fred and Hank

Wishing everyone all the best in the new year.

Joan

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2013 Highlights

  1. kevinjcarter says:

    Captivating photos. Great year for you! Donate looks NBA ready in his basketball picture and so cool and confident in his tux.

  2. Andie Wessell says:

    Thanks so much for sharing your photos with us and we appreciate the time you have taken to include Rachael and DAWSON sponsoring paws4people.

Leave a Reply

