2014 Wrap-Up!

Scroll down if you want to head straight for my favorite images from 2014.

2014 has been a busy year. In addition to forming a new company (Spirited Media) with my husband and launching our first website (Billy Penn), I launched two new photography projects that I’m really excited about.

  • Priceless Puppies, I’ve been photographing puppies destined to be assistance dogs for paws4people for over 5 years now and figured it was about time I figured out a way to share all of that puppy cuteness.

In 2014, I blogged less, but wrote more, as I began writing for Connection Newspapers. Links to my pieces are below the pictures.

joanbrady_2014a

Photo by photography student, Will F.

I met an inspiring teacher, Al Faraone and his post-high school student, Will.  An aspiring photographer, Will had been taking pictures at school events and wanted to learn more. Al figured out how to rig my Canon 5D Mark iii to Will’s wheelchair, so that he could look through the viewfinder. With limited use of his hands, clicking the shutter was difficult. Using a remote trigger, he worked hard to capture the images he wanted. Interested in learning more? 


Presenting 14 from 2014: For-Profit Work                                                              (click on each picture to view larger)

Joanbrady_dec2014_0154

Joanbrady_Nov2014_0041_39

joanbrady_oct2014_0016

Joanbrady_Nov2014_0115

joanbrady_9_22_14_0278

joanbrady_September2014_0312

Joanbrady_Nov2014_0164

joanbrady_oct2014_0268

Joanbrady_Nov2014_0156

Joanbrady_Nov2014_0093

Joanbrady_oct2014_0211

joanbrady_august2014_0282_4by6

Joan_oct2014_0390

5by7v_joanbrady_august2014_0023



Presenting 14 from 2014: Non-Profit Work with paws4people.org               (click the links to learn more about the dogs and the difference they are making. Click on the pictures to see them larger.)

Adam, a veteran, recently told me that things have really changed since KENAN had come into his life. In fact, he invested in getting his teeth fixed.  If you never smile, your teeth don't matter, Adam told me. http://paws4people.org/give/adam-campbell/

Adam, a veteran, recently told me that things have really changed since KENAN had come into his life. In fact, he invested in getting his teeth fixed. If you never smile, your teeth don’t matter, Adam told me. http://paws4people.org/give/adam-campbell/

MEMPHIS is currently training to be an assistance dog at Lakin Penitentiary in West Virginia.

MEMPHIS

10_24_14_joanbrady_azalia_october_2014_0134

GRIFFIN

Getting those litter shots takes a lot of puppy wranglers.

Getting those litter shots takes a lot of puppy wranglers.

I have also photographed Cory with his assistance dog, SAMPSON, but this is the image that really touches me, Cory with his two teenage daughters. Read more about Cory's journey post Marine Corps:   http://paws4people.org/give/cory-will/

I have also photographed Cory with his assistance dog, SAMPSON, but this is the image that really touches me.

THORNTON is currently training at Lakin Penitentiary in West Virginia.

THORNTON

AVERY has much more patience than my beagles.  But that tongue was at-the-ready for the command that AVERY knew would eventually come.  http://paws4people.org/give/robbie-combs/

Robbie on AVERY, ” [I]  used to always say get busy living or get busy dying. Because of AVERY I have gotten busy living.”

SAYLOR and WALKER, best buddies.

SAYLOR and WALKER

10_15_14_newsletter_joanbrady_sidney_0238

Destined to be assistance dogs.

I couldn't do the top 14 and not include SIDNEY. She is the smiliest dog I have ever seen.  She is a demo dog for paws4people

SIDNEY, a demo and breeding dog, is the smiliest dog I’ve ever seen. Next year’s goal is to get David  to smile as big!

GUS clearly brings Lexi and here family so much joy. Read about their journey: http://paws4people.org/give/lexi-haas/

According to Lexi’s mom, Susan, “Thanks to GUS, for the first time ever, neighborhood kids stop to talk to Lexi.”

JACKSON has made such a difference in Walter's life that he and his wife, Susan were able to realize a life-long dream, to travel to Alaska. Read more about his journey from Vietnam to meeting JACKSON: http://paws4people.org/give/walter-parker/

Because of JACKSON, Walter and his wife, Susan, were able to realize a life-long dream, to travel to Alaska. Read more about Walter’s journey from Vietnam to meeting JACKSON: http://paws4people.org/give/walter-parker/



Links to Connection Newspaper articles

This was a multi-part package, taking up several pages of the paper. This link goes to an intro and then all of the links to each of the associated pieces.  Blondes turning Heads in Prison

We wanted to come up with a different way to talk about adoption. No stats. No pleas for help. Rather, the story of how a wonderful family was expanded through adoption. Hover over each image to see captions and read about the story of the Havlovick’s.  How Three Became One

Photo gallery of assistance dogs and their handlers. Click on each picture for description.

Envisioning a Launch Pad for Young Adults

Puppies Destined for Important Work

Columns

I’m not a parent, I just act like one.

November is Adoption Month

Nurturing Happy Memories

Small Acts of Kindness

Assistance Dogs: Making Connections

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment